Category Archives: 20th Century

new: The Poppy Field

      Comments Off on new: The Poppy Field

Jan 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION Young nurse, Gemma, is struggling with the traumas she has witnessed through her job. Needing to escape from it all, Gemma agrees to help renovate a rundown farmhouse in Doullens, France, a town near the Somme. There, in a boarded-up cupboard, wrapped in old newspapers, is a tin that reveals the secret… Read more »

new: The Girl with the Golden Scissors

      Comments Off on new: The Girl with the Golden Scissors

Jan 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION Christmas 1889. A baby is born in the early hours at Vienna General Hospital, only to be abandoned by her unwed mother and entrusted to a foundling home and its loving caretaker. Fanny Schindler grows from a precocious girl into a strong-willed young woman. Undeterred by the rules of her station, she’s… Read more »

new: The Words I Never Wrote

      Comments Off on new: The Words I Never Wrote

Jan 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION New York, present day: On a whim, Juno Lambert buys a 1931 Underwood typewriter that once belonged to celebrated journalist Cordelia Capel. Within its case she discovers an unfinished novel, igniting a transatlantic journey to fill the gaps in the story of Cordelia and her sister and the secret that lies between… Read more »

new: Light Changes Everything

      Comments Off on new: Light Changes Everything

Jan 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION It’s the summer of 1907 and the sun is scorching down on Mary Pearl in the Arizona Territory. Mary Pearl and her sister Esther take their minds off the heat by sneaking banned Jane Austen novels from Aunt Sarah Elliot’s lively bookshelf. Whispered read alouds preoccupy their nights, and reveries of getting… Read more »

new: Dreamland

      Comments Off on new: Dreamland

Jan 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground. The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York… Read more »

new: The Secret Guests

      Comments Off on new: The Secret Guests

Jan 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION Ahead of the German Blitz during World War II, English parents from every social class sent their children to the countryside for safety, displacing more than three million young offspring. In The Secret Guests, the British royal family takes this evacuation a step further, secretly moving the princesses to the estate of… Read more »

new: All the Ways We Said Goodbye

      Comments Off on new: All the Ways We Said Goodbye

Jan 2020 release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION The heiress . . . The Resistance fighter . . . The widow . . . Three women whose fates are joined by one splendid hotel France, 1914. As war breaks out, Aurelie becomes trapped on the wrong side of the front with her father, Comte Sigismund de Courcelles. When the Germans… Read more »

new: Under Darkening Skies

      Comments Off on new: Under Darkening Skies

Jan 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION Norway, 1940. Nazis pour into Oslo, a shroud of dread looms over the city, and eighteen-year-old Ingrid Solberg fears the worst. Under German rule, harsh rationing and the exorbitant cost of medicine threaten the lives of many, including Ingrid’s mother. And when Ingrid meets a young SS officer, she’s forced to make… Read more »

Churchill Fiction

      Comments Off on Churchill Fiction

BOOK DESCRIPTION Wealthy, privileged, and fiercely independent New Yorker Jennie Jerome took Victorian England by storm when she landed on its shores. As Lady Randolph Churchill, she gave birth to a man who defined the twentieth century: her son Winston. But Jennie—reared in the luxury of Gilded Age Newport and the Paris of the Second Empire—lived an outrageously modern life… Read more »

new: The Bright Unknown

      Comments Off on new: The Bright Unknown

Oct 2019 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION This poignant and heartbreaking novel explores the power of resilience, the gift of friendship, and the divine beauty to be found in the big, bright world—if only we’re willing to look. Pennsylvania, 1940s. The only life Brighton Friedrich has ever known is the one she has endured within the dreary walls of… Read more »

My Favorite Reads of 2019

      Comments Off on My Favorite Reads of 2019

The Magnetic Girl by Jessica Handler is definitely the central book that comes to mind when assessing the books I’ve read this year! Back in January I was thrilled to find this novel was soon to be released as the main character is an intriguing local historical figure in the exact town where I started working as a museum director!… Read more »

new: The Poppy Wife

      No Comments on new: The Poppy Wife

Nov 2019 Release BOOK DESCRIPTION In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I. 1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their… Read more »