Category Archives: 20th Century

new: The Bright Unknown

      Comments Off on new: The Bright Unknown

Oct 2019 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION This poignant and heartbreaking novel explores the power of resilience, the gift of friendship, and the divine beauty to be found in the big, bright world—if only we’re willing to look. Pennsylvania, 1940s. The only life Brighton Friedrich has ever known is the one she has endured within the dreary walls of… Read more »

My Favorite Reads of 2019

      Comments Off on My Favorite Reads of 2019

The Magnetic Girl by Jessica Handler is definitely the central book that comes to mind when assessing the books I’ve read this year! Back in January I was thrilled to find this novel was soon to be released as the main character is an intriguing local historical figure in the exact town where I started working as a museum director!… Read more »

new: The Poppy Wife

      No Comments on new: The Poppy Wife

Nov 2019 Release BOOK DESCRIPTION In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I. 1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their… Read more »

Books I’m Reading

      No Comments on Books I’m Reading

It’s been a very hectic year with my new career, and I have not had the luxury of free time as I had in the past. But, I plan for 2020 to be different. I can’t lose sight of this part of me–the reader. It has been the pathway to my current endeavors, and I miss being continually immersed in… Read more »

Picnic at Hanging Rock

      No Comments on Picnic at Hanging Rock

I was sent this novel by a longtime Australian friend who became interested in the television show featuring actress Natalie Dormer. “Picnic at Hanging Rock is an Australian historical fiction novel by Joan Lindsay. Set in 1900, it is about a group of female students at an Australian girls’ boarding school who vanish at Hanging Rock while on a Valentine’s… Read more »

reading now: Summer of ’69

      No Comments on reading now: Summer of ’69

It’s been a very busy year with my new career as a museum director, and I have allowed my hobby of reading and reviewing to fall by the wayside. Going from working a 9-to-5 (or rather 10-to-6) for years to having no set hours has taken its toll on my free time. One might think that would be the perfect… Read more »

guest post: Lions of the Desert: Telling the Real WWII Story Behind The English Patient and Operation Condor

In Lions of the Desert: A True Story of WWII Heroes in North Africa, I tell the tale of the legendary Operation Condor and 1941-1942 Desert War between Rommel’s Afrika Korps and the British Eighth Army, based on recently declassified British and U.S. Military Intelligence records. In May 1942, just before the Desert Fox launched his offensive to drive Eighth… Read more »

At the Far End of Nowhere by Christine Davis Merriman

      No Comments on At the Far End of Nowhere by Christine Davis Merriman

This book came to my attention and I thought I would share it as it sounds like an interesting and unusual historical setting. I’ve been increasingly interested in mid-20th century (post WWII), especially the 60’s. I’m adding this to my ever-growing list! BOOK DESCRIPTION: “In this hauntingly unconventional novel, young Lissa Power challenges the imagination and captures the heart as… Read more »

review: The House of One Thousand Eyes

      1 Comment on review: The House of One Thousand Eyes

The House of One Thousand Eyes by Michelle Barker Set in Cold War era East Germany during the 1980’s, this story follows 17-year-old Lena Altmann, who had lost her parents in a factory explosion and was living with her strict, party-observant aunt. Considered slow-witted due to her time in a psychiatric ward after the accident, Lena is given a job… Read more »

excerpt reveal & giveaway: Lone Wolf in Jerusalem

Lone Wolf in Jerusalem by Ehud Diskin A Thrilling Tale of Love, Loss, and Revenge BOOK DESCRIPTION Set primarily in post-WWII Israel, Lone Wolf in Jerusalem is a suspenseful, action-packed novel that is a worthy contribution to Jewish historical fiction. Using drama, adventure, and romance, Diskin has created a colorful and captivating story that entertains and educates through the exploits… Read more »

movie vs book: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Firsty, I’m not sure it needs to be noted, but there are spoilers here. If you’ve not watched the movie and wish it to be a surprise, you may want to move along. I read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society several years ago, and recently was inspired to reread it when I saw a preview of the… Read more »

review: Dear Mrs. Bird

      1 Comment on review: Dear Mrs. Bird

Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce The idea for this story stems from a fascinating subject–the content of women’s magazines from the WWII era. What topics were they covering and what was the tone during this time of hardship? In Dear Mrs. Bird, the protagonist, Emmaline Lake, is a young woman planning to become a war correspondent, or a journalist… Read more »