Posted in 20th Century Giveaways

eBook giveaway: The Beginning by Urban Vyaas

This giveaway is for a Kindle eBook copy, and is open until June 30, 2018. Leave a comment to enter. The Beginning: A Multicultural Tale of Transformation by Urban Vyaas Book Description: On June 16, 1914, journalist Alec Bannon and his young wife, Millie Bloom, meet an Inuit called Piugaattoq (also known as Minik Wallace) at the Museum of Natural Science of New York where Minik’s father’s bones are on display. Minik hires the services of a Chinese tong and a Voodoo priest to assist him in revengefully replacing his father’s remains with those of the museum director’s deceased father. The Bannons, freshly accredited at New York, make a report about it and soon afterward they’re entangled in a web of intrigues that surrounds the…

Continue Reading...
Posted in Giveaways WWII

giveaway: The Room on Rue Amelie

THE ROOM ON RUE AMELIE by Kristin Harmel For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher…

Continue Reading...
Posted in 14th Century Audiobooks Author Guest Post Giveaways

guest post & audiobook giveaway: The Master of Verona

Please welcome author David Blixt, who has a brand new audio version of his book The Master of Verona on its 10th anniversary. The eBook version is also only $1.99 across platforms today (December 11th)! I’m one of “those” authors. The ones you have to discover for yourself, through a friend, or a comment, (or a blog!). There’s no big push, no publicity engine. And my books aren’t for everyone. I’m an author with a marvelously devoted group of readers, who is yet unknown to the public at large. And I’m entirely good with that. My favorite authors are “those authors”. As a kid, I was in a comic book store asking when the next Myth Adventures comic was coming out. The guy behind the…

Continue Reading...
Posted in 19th Century America Civil War Giveaways Guest Post

guest post: Fiction and History in Richard Buxton’s Whirligig – A writer’s choice

I decided to base Whirligig, my novel set in the American Civil War, largely in Tennessee and Georgia. The battles around Chattanooga were interesting to me. I only knew of Chickamauga and the subsequent epic charge up Missionary Ridge in summary, but I liked their relative anonymity when compared to the better known eastern battles of Gettysburg or Sharpsburg. I thought it would allow me room to manoeuvre. We do that as writers: try to find space for our fiction. Whirligig follows the fortunes of Shire, an English immigrant sucked into the war and into the ranks of the formidable 125th Ohio Infantry. He has a love interest and a duty to reach Appalachian Tennessee. But in order to keep his promise he has to…

Continue Reading...
Posted in 20th Century Giveaways Reviews

review & giveaway: The Chosen Maiden

The Chosen Maiden by Eva Stachniak Author’s Website COMMENT TO ENTER GIVEAWAY. US/CANADA RESIDENTS ONLY. Chronicling the years 1894 to 1939, this story covers the Russian Revolution, WWI and the years leading up to WWII through the eyes of Bronislava Nijinska, a Polish-born Russian ballet dancer who worked her way up to teaching and choreographing across Europe. Always in the shadow of her dancing prodigy brother, Vaslav, Bronia works hard for her place in Russia’s Imperial Ballet School. But, it seems, no matter how much she longs for fame and the freedom to create her own unique style, Vaslav is there challenging her every move. Though he is the one who makes the name of Nijinska famous, it is Bronia whose longevity, strength and steadfastness…

Continue Reading...