The Spellbook of Katrina Tassel

      Comments Off on The Spellbook of Katrina Tassel

I recently saw this one in the bookstore and thought it looked interesting! BOOK DESCRIPTION When Ichabod Crane arrives in the spooky little village of Sleepy Hollow as the new schoolmaster, Katrina Van Tassel is instantly drawn to him. Through their shared love of books and music, they form a friendship that quickly develops into romance. Ichabod knows that as… Read more »

pre-order: The First Actress

      Comments Off on pre-order: The First Actress

May 2020 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION From her beginnings as the daughter of a courtesan to her extraordinary transformation into the most celebrated actress of her era, Sarah Bernhardt is brought to life by an internationally bestselling author praised for his historical novels featuring famous women. Sarah’s highly dramatic life starts when she returns to Paris after her… Read more »

Non-Fiction Find: Reborn in America

      Comments Off on Non-Fiction Find: Reborn in America

I just purchased this for a reference book on a historical figure I am studying. There’s not much out there on this interesting early 19th century enterprise. Reborn in America: French Exiles and Refugees in the United States and the Vine and Olive Adventure, 1815-1865 (Atlantic Crossings) The history of the Vine and Olive Colony in Demopolis, Alabama, has long… Read more »

new: The Bright Unknown

      Comments Off on new: The Bright Unknown

Oct 2019 Release – Amazon Link BOOK DESCRIPTION This poignant and heartbreaking novel explores the power of resilience, the gift of friendship, and the divine beauty to be found in the big, bright world—if only we’re willing to look. Pennsylvania, 1940s. The only life Brighton Friedrich has ever known is the one she has endured within the dreary walls of… Read more »

My Favorite Reads of 2019

      Comments Off on My Favorite Reads of 2019

The Magnetic Girl by Jessica Handler is definitely the central book that comes to mind when assessing the books I’ve read this year! Back in January I was thrilled to find this novel was soon to be released as the main character is an intriguing local historical figure in the exact town where I started working as a museum director!… Read more »

The Welsh Fasting Girl

      Comments Off on The Welsh Fasting Girl

Another interesting 2019 Release… BOOK DESCRIPTION Twelve-year-old Sarah Jacob was the most famous of the Victorian fasting girls, who claimed to miraculously survive without food, serving as flashpoints between struggling religious, scientific, and political factions. In this novel based on Sarah’s life and premature death from what may be the first documented case of anorexia, an American journalist, recovering from… Read more »

Queen Victoria and the Men Who Loved Her: Recollections of a Journey

      Comments Off on Queen Victoria and the Men Who Loved Her: Recollections of a Journey

Just found one of my favorite authors had a new book out in 2019 that I missed! BOOK DESCRIPTION We are in England sometime during the early part of the 20th century. A chance encounter with a group of unusual and talented people on a train journey reveals an insight into the life and times of Queen Victoria, one of… Read more »

new: The Poppy Wife

      No Comments on new: The Poppy Wife

Nov 2019 Release BOOK DESCRIPTION In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I. 1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their… Read more »

Books I’m Reading

      No Comments on Books I’m Reading

It’s been a very hectic year with my new career, and I have not had the luxury of free time as I had in the past. But, I plan for 2020 to be different. I can’t lose sight of this part of me–the reader. It has been the pathway to my current endeavors, and I miss being continually immersed in… Read more »

Picnic at Hanging Rock

      No Comments on Picnic at Hanging Rock

I was sent this novel by a longtime Australian friend who became interested in the television show featuring actress Natalie Dormer. “Picnic at Hanging Rock is an Australian historical fiction novel by Joan Lindsay. Set in 1900, it is about a group of female students at an Australian girls’ boarding school who vanish at Hanging Rock while on a Valentine’s… Read more »

reading now: Summer of ’69

      No Comments on reading now: Summer of ’69

It’s been a very busy year with my new career as a museum director, and I have allowed my hobby of reading and reviewing to fall by the wayside. Going from working a 9-to-5 (or rather 10-to-6) for years to having no set hours has taken its toll on my free time. One might think that would be the perfect… Read more »

guest post: Lions of the Desert: Telling the Real WWII Story Behind The English Patient and Operation Condor

In Lions of the Desert: A True Story of WWII Heroes in North Africa, I tell the tale of the legendary Operation Condor and 1941-1942 Desert War between Rommel’s Afrika Korps and the British Eighth Army, based on recently declassified British and U.S. Military Intelligence records. In May 1942, just before the Desert Fox launched his offensive to drive Eighth… Read more »